Skip to main content

Villa Maria College Recognizes 14 Students as Outstanding at Honors Convocation; Inducts 20 into Two Honors Societies

By April 22, 2021May 5th, 2022Academics

Last week’s Honors Convocation and Honors Society induction ceremonies recognized some of the College’s best and brightest students for their academic achievements. The in-person ceremony recognized 14 students as outstanding in their fields of study and welcomed 20 students into an honors society.

The following student awards were presented:

Digital Media Arts

  • Outstanding student in animation: Mary Lonigan, ‘22
  • Outstanding student in digital filmmaking: Derek Ditkowski, ‘22
  • Outstanding student in game design: Sam Speciale, ‘23

Fine Arts and Design

  • Outstanding student in fashion design and merchandising: Donisha Grant, ‘22
  • Outstanding student in fine arts: Tracy Mendicino, ‘25
  • Outstanding student in graphic design: Katelynn Steckstor, ‘21
  • Outstanding student in interior design: Emmalee Lowe, ‘22
  • Outstanding student in photography: Kelly Thomas, ‘21

Health Sciences

  • Outstanding student in occupational therapy assistant: Tara Hanlon, 21
  • Outstanding student in physical therapist assistant: Michelle Carpenter, ‘21

Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Outstanding student in psychology: Michael Stewart ‘21

Natural Sciences and Professional Studies

  • Outstanding student in business: Madelyn Jensen,’21
  • Outstanding student in computer software development: Gianluca Ndukanma, ‘23


  • Outstanding student in music industry: Devar Majdandzic, ‘21

The following students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa:

ΦΘΚ is the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs. The purpose of PTK shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development and leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Fall 2020 Inductees

  • Sean Lauer, ‘21
  • Mackenzie Pytlak, ‘21
  • Katie Zak, ‘25
  • Spring 2021 Inductees
  • Allison Church, ‘23
  • Nickolas Ellis, ‘21
  • Lindsay Klaffka, ‘21
  • Rachael Goetz, ‘22
  • Alisa Hartman, ‘22
  • Henny Zack, ‘21

They join the following current members:

  • Katherine Amershadian, ‘21
  • Michelle Carpenter, ‘21
  • Jacquelyn Gardon, ‘22
  • Tara Hanlon, ‘21
  • Iris Lee, ‘21
  • Lakeshia Santos, ‘22

The following students were inducted into Delta Epsilon Sigma:

ΔΕΣ is a national scholastic honor society that was established in 1939 for students of Catholic universities and college in the United States. The society was founded at Loras College in Dubuque, Iowa in 1939 by Father Fitzgerald. To be eligible, undergraduate students must have completed at least fifty percent of the credit requirements for their baccalaureate degree and rank no lower than the highest twenty percent of their class in scholarship. Villa Maria College’s chapter is Epsilon Eta.


  • Sierra Annunziata, ‘22
  • Angela Cerroni, ‘21
  • Krysta Edwards, ‘22
  • Azora Hoffman, ‘20
  • Mary Lonigan, ‘22
  • Emmalee Lowe, ‘22
  • Nicholas Monaco, ‘21
  • Vincent Monaco, ‘21
  • Richard Rugg, ‘22
  • Nicholas Tabak, ‘22
  • Brian Willis, ‘21

They join the following current members:

  • Madelyn Jensen, ‘21
  • Kimberly Korhummel, ‘21
  • Madison Krzykowski, ‘21
  • Madison Martin, ‘21
  • Lindsay Neilson, ‘21
  • Juana Penzing, ‘20
  • Bridget Schiltz, ‘21
  • Kelly Thomas, ‘21
  • Nina Truong, ‘20

By viewing the Honors Convocation Program below, you will find all of this academic year’s student awardees.